Socks on Parade

Ahoy, my lovelies. We’re about to embark on a voyage to Sock Island and back. Or Sock Hill or Sock Oblivion. Sock Seattle – wherever you want to go with Sock attached to it.

If you are one of the two readers of this blog you are aware that one of my goals for 2012 was to knit more socks. And I have accomplished that in a big way people. Since the first of the year I have finished five pairs of socks. Yes! I am the champion. I nearly have enough handknit socks to wear one every day of the week. Since my state has been like living on the surface of the Sun this summer I have not worn many socks since March (?) but I could if I wanted to and that’s what counts. Let the parade begin.

Image

This is the most recently completed addition to the Smith Sock Family but it is destined for adoption. It was crafted for one of my students who convincingly begged for a pair. Done. The pattern comes from the Big Book of Socks by Kathleen Taylor and was the first fancy sock pattern I’ve tackled. The book is truly big and chocked full of sock patterns in various, sizes, colors and styles from kid to Christmas. I enjoyed knitting this pattern. The ribbed effect it produces is very easy on the eyes and very easy to produce. Kathleen also wrote clear instructions for the short-row heel which I finally understand even though I took a short-row heel class at the much-revered Sock Summit last year in Portland. I will be making more socks from this book. She has several patterns for worsted weight socks which I guess would work with boots or the Birkenstock. It seems like they would be thick for the regular shoe. I’m sure Kathleen knows best.

Image

Here are some lovely tweed socks made with Knitpicks Essential Tweed in a colorway that appears to be burgundy. These were made using the Yarn Harlot’s Basic Sock Recipe from her book Knitting Rules. I have made several socks using her very detailed instructions and I like them. I figured out the ideal number of stitches to cast on and my socks now fit like a dream. I love her recipe because she tells you how to fit the socks to your feet. Very helpful. I loved working with this yarn and have enough leftover for either another pair of socks, an American Girl something or a festive addition to the heel, toe and cuff of a subsequent pair. That pattern is also from the Big Book, tra la.

Image

These were made from some Paton’s self-striping yarn. I love the colors and pattern. I wasn’t so sure at first but these are probably my first or second favorite socks. This is the pair that finally had the right number of stitches to fit and feel like they were going to stay up. I am excited to wear these once the ball of fire cools down a little.

These are more socks from the Harlot’s basic recipe – I was on a roll. The yarn is more from our friends at Knitpicks. This is  Felici in Marsh or something. I think this colorway has been discontinued. They do that frequently with the Felici yarn so now if I like it I buy it. Fall into the consumerism trap much? Yes, yes I do.

My current sock project is a selection from my Yarn of the Month Club. I have ripped it out twice. Once I screwed up the pattern, the second time the sock was just huge so I’ve gone down a needle size. I was very impressed with the pattern (the little I knit of it) and proud of how well I knit it. Photos to come! It’s just a baby right now.

One thought on “Socks on Parade

Leave a Reply

