New Year, Old Sock

Ok, so I forgot that one of my New Year’s resolutions was to blog more. Didn’t write it, but I’m going to do it.

This is the current sock, begun last year and continued this year. I keep the socks in my purse so if I have to wait somewhere, need a little knitting break during the day or find myself in a car full of knitting-supportive people, I can pull it out and get some stitches in.

Image

This sock is made from some Knit Picks Felici I think. Anyway, this colorway is probably discontinued. I usually agonize over whether to order a specific Felici colorway until it’s discontinued. Smart planning. Check out the cute owl stitch marker, a gift from new crocheter Catherine Bigbee.

Anyway, this sock is made using the Yarn Harlot’s basic sock recipe. This is the pattern I usually use for socks. I get a good fit with it for the most part. I am going to try to step out (Get it? Socks, step out? Ha ha. ) and knit some socks from a different pattern this year. This may involve lace or cables. Contain yourselves.

The sock started out going really fast and has now stalled somewhat. However, I am nearly to the heel. I love the yarn. It’s really soft and appears to fly around the needle. I’m using one of those really tiny circulars instead of DPNs. I’m not sure how well I like the baby circulars. I think they make my wrist hurt but they’re easier to manage than the DPNs. Although I feel less clever while working with them. It only takes the Yarn Harlot 20 hours to finish a pair of socks, but I think in that 20 hours she actually knits on them. Imagine.

Leave a Reply

